“The hollow crown that rounds the mortal temples of a king”

Inspired by the work of 2000 AD designer Pye Parr, and for no other reason than I had an idea and wanted to run with it, I decided to do some poster-style images representing Shakespeare plays that I enjoy.

One of my favourite of the Bard’s is Richard II. Aside from it being a fascinating dissection of kingship and loyalty, it was also the source of my old audition piece from the days when I kidded myself that I was any good at acting. I was delighted when I saw the BBC was doing new versions of the ‘Henriad’ (Shakespeare’s history plays that also include Henry IV Parts 1 & 2, and Henry V) and even more delighted when the awesome trailer used that same speech. So delighted was I that I failed to watch any of them. Ho well.

This didn’t quite come out as I’d hoped, but then it’s the first time I’ve ever tried to do anything like this. The image uses an actual portrait of Richard II, a dodgy paint effect, and some fairly blatant symbology.

Leave a Reply

